If you received an ANNUAL REPORT notice CLICK HERE
If you received a notice for your FICTITIOUS NAME CLICK HERE
NEW BUSINESSES ONLY
LLC, Corp, Nonprofits, etc
About your Florida Certificate of Status:
- It certifies that your Florida business is in existence, is authorized to transact business in the state, and complies with all state requirements.
- It may be required for loans, to renew business licenses, to open your business bank account, or for tax or other business purposes.
- It shows the official evidence of an entity’s existence and provides a statement of an entity’s status, legal name, and legal formation.
- It bears the official seal of the Florida Secretary of State.
About the Compliant Labor Law Posters:
- Federal Law 29 USC Sec. 666 (I) & 29 Sec. 2005 states that an an up-to-date compliant Labor Law Poster must be posted in a visible location on the property of business which has at least 1 employee.
- Penalties and risks of non-compliance with posting regulations can lead to potential fines in excess of $7,000 per instance for failure to post federally required information, and could possibly even lead to lawsuits.
About your EIN (Federal Tax ID Number):
- An EIN (Employer Identification Number) is a nine-digit number issued by the IRS used to identify businesses and certain other entities. It is also called a Federal Tax ID.
- It is commonly used for taxing and banking purposes and to register your business with the federal government.
- You will need an EIN Tax ID in order to hire employees, open a business bank account, file taxes, and apply for business loans and/or lines of credit.
- All businesses are required to have an EIN Tax ID.
About your Annual Report:
- An annual report must be filed each year for your business entity to maintain an “active status” with the Department of State.
- It updates or confirms your records with the Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations, displaying your business’s most current data on file.
- It is required, whether or not you need to make changes.
- It is not a financial statement.
- If a business files late, a $400 late fee will be imposed on you by The State.
- If you do not file an annual report by the third Friday of September, your business entity will be administratively dissolved or revoked at the close of business on the fourth Friday of September. (Chapters 607, 617 and 620, F.S.) Businesses may acquire additional reinstatement fees.
- Every order will include your updated Certificate of Status.